Making a pencil skirt sloper

Have you EVER owned a pencil skirt that fit you properly?  I find the ready to wear either gape in the waist, or are too tight across the hip or thigh or the darts aren’t right.  I guess perhaps my waist to hip ratio does not match the ideal hourglass figure.  Neither is my widest point in the regular hip – I am a true pear with my thighs wider than my hips.

Now that I can sew (a little) I thought it was about time I tried to rectify this with my own pencil skirt.  But buying a pattern would not solve the problems and would require so many alterations and I don’t know how to do this to get a good fit.  So drafting my own pattern from scratch seemed to be the way to go.

I found a brilliant description of how to take your measurements and draft a pencil skirt basic pattern sloper here.

It starts with photos of how and where to measure and takes you step by step through constructing your very own pattern for a skirt based on your own measurements.  There are recommendations for ‘ease’ so that the skirt isn’t skin tight!  It took me a couple of hours after I went wrong once and had to start again, but at the end I had a pattern all of my very own.

REMEMBER TO ADD YOUR SEAM ALLOWANCE.
But I’m still very new to this – would it work?  I had to test it right away, and I grabbed some navy blue satin from my stash.  So far, I’ve only ever bought remnant pieces, never anything from the roll, because I still don’t trust myself to make something worth wearing and would hate to waste the fabric (and the money) if it turned out wrong.

So I carefully cut and marked my skirt, stitched the darts, and pinned for a first fit.  Not bad !  But hard to really tell without sewing it all together.  Ah – and it was here I forgot that I was running before I could walk, and of course a pencil skirt in a woven fabric needs a zipper – and I don’t have a zipper foot and can’t buy one here in the Cayman Islands.  Damn it.

So, the pattern and the fabric has been carefully folded and labelled and put away in a zip loc bag ready for the heavenly day I can continue on these ‘zipper needed’ projects.  One day (soon) I’ll return to this project and reference this post and hope to show my perfectly fitting pencil skirt.

Posted on November 20, 2012, in Clothes, Patterns, Sewing, Skirts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

